Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
So, let's make some scenarios. I'll start with one:
Draw 2 space.
Let's say you draw an enemy with Strength 3 (enc 2) and it has an special ability to roll 3 dies for its attack roll. (Brutal)
Then you draw another Strength Enemy, (enc 2) and it has a special ability that makes them roll two dice in combat and use the highest result.
These special abilities don't work together when you smash them together. So what would you do? So which goes first? Does the rulebook cover these things?
What if you drew two headed dragon and pack of wolves? That can feasibly happen in a game.
Draw 2 space.
Let's say you draw an enemy with Strength 3 (enc 2) and it has an special ability to roll 3 dies for its attack roll. (Brutal)
Then you draw another Strength Enemy, (enc 2) and it has a special ability that makes them roll two dice in combat and use the highest result.
These special abilities don't work together when you smash them together. So what would you do? So which goes first? Does the rulebook cover these things?
What if you drew two headed dragon and pack of wolves? That can feasibly happen in a game.
Talisman's cool
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
The dragon rolls 2 dice and pack of wolves roll an EXTRA dice so maths is simple here 
Ja nawet nie mam Talismana.
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
So you suggest it totals to 3? Do they still only use the highest value for their attack score only? You suggest the pack of wolves nerfs the Dragon?
What about the case of the above scenario I conjured?
What if the order was like this:
The first Enemy rolls 3 dice, and the second Enemy rolls two dice (not use highest result.) does the battle roll two dice or 3 dice? Who goes first?
Talisman's cool
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Apologies, my previous response was written in a little rush.
Yeah, I suggest rolling the total of 3 dice (2 for the dragon and 1 extra for wolves).
Should we choose the one highest result (as per wolves) or add all 3 results ('add them together' on dragon's card), or maybe choose the higher of 2 summed up for dragon and the 1 for the wolves (we would need to roll them separately)? I have no idea
I summon our @Rules God
Yeah, I suggest rolling the total of 3 dice (2 for the dragon and 1 extra for wolves).
Should we choose the one highest result (as per wolves) or add all 3 results ('add them together' on dragon's card), or maybe choose the higher of 2 summed up for dragon and the 1 for the wolves (we would need to roll them separately)? I have no idea
I'd say 3, so instructions on both cards are resolved.
Ja nawet nie mam Talismana.
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
So, you could say a fix from making the wolf add a bunch of dice to the roll would be if the wolf said: "roll two dice and use the highest to determine its attack roll."? Kind of like the Warrior?Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 13:52 Apologies, my previous response was written in a little rush.
Yeah, I suggest rolling the total of 3 dice (2 for the dragon and 1 extra for wolves).
Should we choose the one highest result (as per wolves) or add all 3 results ('add them together' on dragon's card), or maybe choose the higher of 2 summed up for dragon and the 1 for the wolves (we would need to roll them separately)? I have no ideaI summon our @Rules God
![]()
I'd say 3, so instructions on both cards are resolved.
@Rogo :
I'd say 3, so instructions on both cards are resolved.
[/quote]
Based on this, you feel the "highest value" of similar effects takes priority?
Talisman's cool
- Mały Nemo
-
A kind, crazy fool and a stubborn kid. - Posty: 24488
- Rejestracja: sobota 04 lis 2006, 14:17
- Lokalizacja: Slumberland
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 19
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
The Rules God here:
The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
Now, if the case is that we don't have to add the dice together, by rolling 3 dice we already fulfilled the condition to roll 2 dice, so whatever we have to do with the rolled 3 dice, one of the die results you will have to choose will be the highest one result.
The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
Now, if the case is that we don't have to add the dice together, by rolling 3 dice we already fulfilled the condition to roll 2 dice, so whatever we have to do with the rolled 3 dice, one of the die results you will have to choose will be the highest one result.
Name's Little Nemo, I'm the Dream Master!
Little bit of fun is all I'm after!
Little bit of fun is all I'm after!
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
So I am a little confused.Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39 The Rules God here:
The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
Now, if the case is that we don't have to add the dice together, by rolling 3 dice we already fulfilled the condition to roll 2 dice, so whatever we have to do with the rolled 3 dice, one of the die results you will have to choose will be the highest one result.
What here determines that the enemy that adds the die together to determine attack score to take priority? Does this nerf the 1st Enemy if you must choose the highest result only from Enemy 2?Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39 The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
I'm confused here. "In the case where we dont add the dice together", in regards to which Enemy? 1 or 2? Is this talking about what I asked previously if Enemy 1 rolls 3 dice but Enemy 2 rolls 2 dice (both add up to determine score)? Then why choose the highest result if that has nothing to do with adding highest result?Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39 Now, if the case is that we don't have to add the dice together, by rolling 3 dice we already fulfilled the condition to roll 2 dice, so whatever we have to do with the rolled 3 dice, one of the die results you will have to choose will be the highest one result.
It feels there is a level of depth missing here. How did you come to the conclusion on your first part that the highest result was already included on a 3 die roll to determine score?
Talisman's cool
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
You resolve enemy 1: roll 3 dice (you need to take 2 more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 2 dice (you already have 2 and even one more). Result: roll 3 dice.frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59 I'm confused here. "In the case where we dont add the dice together", in regards to which Enemy? 1 or 2? Is this talking about what I asked previously if Enemy 1 rolls 3 dice but Enemy 2 rolls 2 dice (both add up to determine score)? Then why choose the highest result if that has nothing to do with adding highest result?
Or
You resolve enemy 1: roll 2 dice (you need to take one more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 3 dice (you need to take a third dice). Result: roll 3 dice.
This one is indeed confusing.frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59What here determines that the enemy that adds the die together to determine attack score to take priority? Does this nerf the 1st Enemy if you must choose the highest result only from Enemy 2?Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39 The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
Uou have to roll 3 dice - this is already explained.
You have to add results together and choose the highest one:
So you roll 3 dice (e.g. 3,4,5), add the and end up with one result (12) and choose the highest of the one result (final result: 12).
Although it can be interpreted as follows:
You choose the highest result and add results together:
So you roll 3 dice (e.g. 3,4,5), choose the highest one and end up with one result (5), then add the only one result (final result: 5).
Which is correct? Both
It's Talisman's paradox.
Ja nawet nie mam Talismana.
- Mały Nemo
-
A kind, crazy fool and a stubborn kid. - Posty: 24488
- Rejestracja: sobota 04 lis 2006, 14:17
- Lokalizacja: Slumberland
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 19
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Later I will read everything else, but now I will mention that you wrote that the first enemy rolls 3 dice, but you didn't tell what to do with them then. Add them together or choose the highest result or choose two among them. I assumed that after rolling 3 dice you must add them together.
EDIT: Ah, now I understand the problem (highest result vs add them together). Later I will think about it.
EDIT: Ah, now I understand the problem (highest result vs add them together). Later I will think about it.
Name's Little Nemo, I'm the Dream Master!
Little bit of fun is all I'm after!
Little bit of fun is all I'm after!
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Maybe you should choose the highest result and add it 3 times as you've rolled 3 dice?
So if you roll 3 dice with results 3,4,5 the final result is 5+5+5=15
The thing is, these 2 effects cannot be resolved at the same moment so you need to talk to other players and decide. Or game owner decides. Or flip a coin. Or instead of choosing the highest roll, discard the lowest one and add together other two.
So if you roll 3 dice with results 3,4,5 the final result is 5+5+5=15
The thing is, these 2 effects cannot be resolved at the same moment so you need to talk to other players and decide. Or game owner decides. Or flip a coin. Or instead of choosing the highest roll, discard the lowest one and add together other two.
Ja nawet nie mam Talismana.
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Yes, you got me now, good sir!Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:28 Later I will read everything else, but now I will mention that you wrote that the first enemy rolls 3 dice, but you didn't tell what to do with them then. Add them together or choose the highest result or choose two among them. I assumed that after rolling 3 dice you must add them together.
EDIT: Ah, now I understand the problem (highest result vs add them together). Later I will think about it.
So I'll try to describe in better clarity:
Draw 2 enemies,
Enemy 1: roll 3 dice and add them together to determine attack score.
Enemy 2: roll two dice and use the highest result.
Both same encounter number. It's a battle.
The question is, which takes priority? Roll 3 die to determine score, or roll two dice and only use 1 highest die result? If so you'd bot fulfill the requirements for Enemy 1.
I used a real board situation example that could happen between preexisting cards: two headed dragon (Dragon expansion) and pack of wolves (Reaper or blood moon?). Does pack of wolves extra die make it a roll 3 and use highest result? If so, your not fulfilling the dragons requirement to roll 2 dice and adding then together to determine the result, correct?
Talisman's cool
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:20You resolve enemy 1: roll 3 dice (you need to take 2 more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 2 dice (you already have 2 and even one more). Result: roll 3 dice.frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59 I'm confused here. "In the case where we dont add the dice together", in regards to which Enemy? 1 or 2? Is this talking about what I asked previously if Enemy 1 rolls 3 dice but Enemy 2 rolls 2 dice (both add up to determine score)? Then why choose the highest result if that has nothing to do with adding highest result?
Or
You resolve enemy 1: roll 2 dice (you need to take one more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 3 dice (you need to take a third dice). Result: roll 3 dice.
This one is indeed confusing.frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59What here determines that the enemy that adds the die together to determine attack score to take priority? Does this nerf the 1st Enemy if you must choose the highest result only from Enemy 2?Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39 The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
Uou have to roll 3 dice - this is already explained.
You have to add results together and choose the highest one:
So you roll 3 dice (e.g. 3,4,5), add the and end up with one result (12) and choose the highest of the one result (final result: 12).
Although it can be interpreted as follows:
You choose the highest result and add results together:
So you roll 3 dice (e.g. 3,4,5), choose the highest one and end up with one result (5), then add the only one result (final result: 5).
Which is correct? Both
It's Talisman's paradox.
But you don't resolve cards like this "separately", correct? They fight together "as one", as instructed in the rulebook. Unless prompted otherwise, like Dragon's Breath attacks.
Die rolls are not rolled separately, correct?
Talisman's cool
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
So the answer is: one roll. How many dice? Two-headed ragon says 2, pack of wolves says 1 extra, total is 3. (because even though it's one fight, both instructions must be resolved)Rulebook pisze:More Than One Enemy
If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Strength on a space and they have the same encounter number, they fight as one during the battle, adding their Strength together with just one attack roll to make a single, combined attack score.
What is the result? Sum (as on dragon's card) or the highest (as on wolves's card)?
If the dragon was drawn first, you add results together, if wolves - the highest roll.
Why?
Because rules are conflicting and there is no way to resolve them together, so you'll need to follow the below:
Rulebook pisze:Adventure Cards must be dealt with in the order determined by their encounter number, starting with the lowest number, then the next lowest, and so on. In the case of a tie, the character encounters Adventure Cards in the order they were drawn.
Ja nawet nie mam Talismana.
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Hmmm, that is an interesting take on the rule. I actually could see that as a proper solution, since Enemies in this case are in fact adventure cards and are treated as such.Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:21So the answer is: one roll. How many dice? Two-headed ragon says 2, pack of wolves says 1 extra, total is 3. (because even though it's one fight, both instructions must be resolved)Rulebook pisze:More Than One Enemy
If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Strength on a space and they have the same encounter number, they fight as one during the battle, adding their Strength together with just one attack roll to make a single, combined attack score.
What is the result? Sum (as on dragon's card) or the highest (as on wolves's card)?
If the dragon was drawn first, you add results together, if wolves - the highest roll.
Why?
Because rules are conflicting and there is no way to resolve them together, so you'll need to follow the below:Rulebook pisze:Adventure Cards must be dealt with in the order determined by their encounter number, starting with the lowest number, then the next lowest, and so on. In the case of a tie, the character encounters Adventure Cards in the order they were drawn.
But in the case of in battle and in conjuction with Special abilities, are those rules equally applied?
Like, aren't special abilities from Enemuies generally meant to work seamlessly together?
Talisman's cool
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Maybe Rule God has better ideas when/if he returns?
Talisman's cool
- Budowniczy Mostów
-
-
Spis dodatków autora:
• Bezdroża
• Bezkresne Morze
• Gospoda Pod Koroną. Obiekty i Misje 2
• Klątwy Króla Piramidy (Piramida 2.0)
• Legendarne Przedmioty
• Ląd Na Horyzoncie!
• Most
• Obiekty i Misje
• Szalony Tytan - Posty: 4550
- Rejestracja: poniedziałek 05 wrz 2016, 21:50
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
If this happened to me, the Enemies would roll 3 dice and choose the highest result.
Why? Because rolling the dice for an attack is a standard practice (by default, the results sums up), while choosing a higher result is a bit of an exception.
Why? Because rolling the dice for an attack is a standard practice (by default, the results sums up), while choosing a higher result is a bit of an exception.
- frolof
-
- Posty: 85
- Rejestracja: środa 08 maja 2024, 21:42
- Płeć:
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
I can in part see how you made that deduction. However, it does negate the "add them together to determine the attack score." which is written as a definitive.Budowniczy Mostów pisze: ↑sobota 23 sie 2025, 19:12 If this happened to me, the Enemies would roll 3 dice and choose the highest result.
Why? Because rolling the dice for an attack is a standard practice (by default, the results sums up), while choosing a higher result is a bit of an exception.
It's sad that Talisman hasn't a clear rule on this very phenomon.
Talisman's cool
- abubu
-
- Posty: 6410
- Rejestracja: wtorek 26 cze 2012, 22:06
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
In my opinion:frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 11:47 Draw 2 space.
Let's say you draw an enemy with Strength 3 (enc 2) and it has an special ability to roll 3 dies for its attack roll. (Brutal)
Then you draw another Strength Enemy, (enc 2) and it has a special ability that makes them roll two dice in combat and use the highest result.
These special abilities don't work together when you smash them together. So what would you do? So which goes first? Does the rulebook cover these things?
Roll 4 dies and reject 1 with the lowest result.
Jeżeli ktokolwiek nie zrozumiał choćby części mojej wypowiedzi, to zgodnie z regulaminem, może ją śmiało uznać za spam a następnie zgłosić zaistniałą sytuację administracji/moderatorom niniejszego forum.
- abubu
-
- Posty: 6410
- Rejestracja: wtorek 26 cze 2012, 22:06
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
... or:
- roll 2 dies
- roll 2 dies and reject one with lower result
- remaining 3 dies gives you enemy attack roll
- roll 2 dies
- roll 2 dies and reject one with lower result
- remaining 3 dies gives you enemy attack roll
Jeżeli ktokolwiek nie zrozumiał choćby części mojej wypowiedzi, to zgodnie z regulaminem, może ją śmiało uznać za spam a następnie zgłosić zaistniałą sytuację administracji/moderatorom niniejszego forum.
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Why? None of cards state to roll 4 dice. Rules of both cards are met when you roll 3 dice.
Why? None of cards state to reject any dice. It is imo the best solution but it is not what card is instructing to do.
Ja nawet nie mam Talismana.
- abubu
-
- Posty: 6410
- Rejestracja: wtorek 26 cze 2012, 22:06
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
Dodano po 3 minutach 15 sekundach:
If you have problem with "reject" word, then:
- roll 2 dies
- roll 2 dies and pick one with higher result
- those 3 dies gives you enemy attack roll
Better?
Jeżeli ktokolwiek nie zrozumiał choćby części mojej wypowiedzi, to zgodnie z regulaminem, może ją śmiało uznać za spam a następnie zgłosić zaistniałą sytuację administracji/moderatorom niniejszego forum.
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
No, because rulebook instruct to make one roll.
Ja nawet nie mam Talismana.
- abubu
-
- Posty: 6410
- Rejestracja: wtorek 26 cze 2012, 22:06
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
And so what ... Don't you know cards priority rule?
Jeżeli ktokolwiek nie zrozumiał choćby części mojej wypowiedzi, to zgodnie z regulaminem, może ją śmiało uznać za spam a następnie zgłosić zaistniałą sytuację administracji/moderatorom niniejszego forum.
- Rogo
-
- Posty: 6478
- Rejestracja: niedziela 20 kwie 2008, 11:42
- Lokalizacja: Krzyków
- Płeć:
- Wiek: 38
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
And which card instructs to do 2 separate rolls?
Ja nawet nie mam Talismana.