Strona 1 z 2
Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 11:47
autor: frolof
So, let's make some scenarios. I'll start with one:
Draw 2 space.
Let's say you draw an enemy with Strength 3 (enc 2) and it has an special ability to roll 3 dies for its attack roll. (Brutal)
Then you draw another Strength Enemy, (enc 2) and it has a special ability that makes them roll two dice in combat and use the highest result.
These special abilities don't work together when you smash them together. So what would you do? So which goes first? Does the rulebook cover these things?
What if you drew two headed dragon and pack of wolves? That can feasibly happen in a game.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 12:23
autor: Rogo
The dragon rolls 2 dice and pack of wolves roll an EXTRA dice so maths is simple here

Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 12:51
autor: frolof
Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 12:23
The dragon rolls 2 dice and pack of wolves roll an EXTRA dice so maths is simple here
So you suggest it totals to 3? Do they still only use the highest value for their attack score only? You suggest the pack of wolves nerfs the Dragon?
What about the case of the above scenario I conjured?
What if the order was like this:
The first Enemy rolls 3 dice, and the second Enemy rolls two dice (not use highest result.) does the battle roll two dice or 3 dice? Who goes first?
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 13:52
autor: Rogo
Apologies, my previous response was written in a little rush.
Yeah, I suggest rolling the total of 3 dice (2 for the dragon and 1 extra for wolves).
Should we choose the one highest result (as per wolves) or add all 3 results ('add them together' on dragon's card), or maybe choose the higher of 2 summed up for dragon and the 1 for the wolves (we would need to roll them separately)? I have no idea

I summon our
@Rules God
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 12:51
The first Enemy rolls 3 dice, and the second Enemy rolls two dice (not use highest result.) does the battle roll two dice or 3 dice? Who goes firs
I'd say 3, so instructions on both cards are resolved.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:03
autor: frolof
Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 13:52
Apologies, my previous response was written in a little rush.
Yeah, I suggest rolling the total of 3 dice (2 for the dragon and 1 extra for wolves).
Should we choose the one highest result (as per wolves) or add all 3 results ('add them together' on dragon's card), or maybe choose the higher of 2 summed up for dragon and the 1 for the wolves (we would need to roll them separately)? I have no idea

I summon our
@Rules God
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 12:51
The first Enemy rolls 3 dice, and the second Enemy rolls two dice (not use highest result.) does the battle roll two dice or 3 dice? Who goes firs
I'd say 3, so instructions on both cards are resolved.
So, you could say a fix from making the wolf add a bunch of dice to the roll would be if the wolf said: "roll two dice and use the highest to determine its attack roll."? Kind of like the Warrior?
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 12:51
The first Enemy rolls 3 dice, and the second Enemy rolls two dice (not use highest result.) does the battle roll two dice or 3 dice? Who goes first
@Rogo :
I'd say 3, so instructions on both cards are resolved.
[/quote]
Based on this, you feel the "highest value" of similar effects takes priority?
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39
autor: Mały Nemo
The Rules God here:
The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
Now, if the case is that we don't have to add the dice together, by rolling 3 dice we already fulfilled the condition to roll 2 dice, so whatever we have to do with the rolled 3 dice, one of the die results you will have to choose will be the highest one result.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59
autor: frolof
Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39
The Rules God here:
The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
Now, if the case is that we don't have to add the dice together, by rolling 3 dice we already fulfilled the condition to roll 2 dice, so whatever we have to do with the rolled 3 dice, one of the die results you will have to choose will be the highest one result.
So I am a little confused.
Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39
The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
What here determines that the enemy that adds the die together to determine attack score to take priority? Does this nerf the 1st Enemy if you must choose the highest result only from Enemy 2?
Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39
Now, if the case is that we don't have to add the dice together, by rolling 3 dice we already fulfilled the condition to roll 2 dice, so whatever we have to do with the rolled 3 dice, one of the die results you will have to choose will be the highest one result.
I'm confused here. "In the case where we dont add the dice together", in regards to which Enemy? 1 or 2? Is this talking about what I asked previously if Enemy 1 rolls 3 dice but Enemy 2 rolls 2 dice (both add up to determine score)? Then why choose the highest result if that has nothing to do with adding highest result?
It feels there is a level of depth missing here. How did you come to the conclusion on your first part that the highest result was already included on a 3 die roll to determine score?
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:20
autor: Rogo
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59
I'm confused here. "In the case where we dont add the dice together", in regards to which Enemy? 1 or 2? Is this talking about what I asked previously if Enemy 1 rolls 3 dice but Enemy 2 rolls 2 dice (both add up to determine score)? Then why choose the highest result if that has nothing to do with adding highest result?
You resolve enemy 1: roll 3 dice (you need to take 2 more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 2 dice (you already have 2 and even one more). Result: roll 3 dice.
Or
You resolve enemy 1: roll 2 dice (you need to take one more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 3 dice (you need to take a third dice). Result: roll 3 dice.
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59
Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39
The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
What here determines that the enemy that adds the die together to determine attack score to take priority? Does this nerf the 1st Enemy if you must choose the highest result only from Enemy 2?
This one is indeed confusing.
Uou have to roll 3 dice - this is already explained.
You have to add results together and choose the highest one:
So you roll 3 dice (e.g. 3,4,5), add the and end up with one result (12) and choose the highest of the one result (final result: 12).
Although it can be interpreted as follows:
You choose the highest result and add results together:
So you roll 3 dice (e.g. 3,4,5), choose the highest one and end up with one result (5), then add the only one result (final result: 5).
Which is correct? Both

It's Talisman's paradox.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:28
autor: Mały Nemo
Later I will read everything else, but now I will mention that you wrote that the first enemy rolls 3 dice, but you didn't tell what to do with them then. Add them together or choose the highest result or choose two among them. I assumed that after rolling 3 dice you must add them together.
EDIT: Ah, now I understand the problem (highest result vs add them together). Later I will think about it.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:32
autor: Rogo
Maybe you should choose the highest result and add it 3 times as you've rolled 3 dice?
So if you roll 3 dice with results 3,4,5 the final result is 5+5+5=15
The thing is, these 2 effects cannot be resolved at the same moment so you need to talk to other players and decide. Or game owner decides. Or flip a coin. Or instead of choosing the highest roll, discard the lowest one and add together other two.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:37
autor: frolof
Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:28
Later I will read everything else, but now I will mention that you wrote that the first enemy rolls 3 dice, but you didn't tell what to do with them then. Add them together or choose the highest result or choose two among them. I assumed that after rolling 3 dice you must add them together.
EDIT: Ah, now I understand the problem (highest result vs add them together). Later I will think about it.
Yes, you got me now, good sir!
So I'll try to describe in better clarity:
Draw 2 enemies,
Enemy 1: roll 3 dice and add them together to determine attack score.
Enemy 2: roll two dice and use the highest result.
Both same encounter number. It's a battle.
The question is, which takes priority? Roll 3 die to determine score, or roll two dice and only use 1 highest die result? If so you'd bot fulfill the requirements for Enemy 1.
I used a real board situation example that could happen between preexisting cards: two headed dragon (Dragon expansion) and pack of wolves (Reaper or blood moon?). Does pack of wolves extra die make it a roll 3 and use highest result? If so, your not fulfilling the dragons requirement to roll 2 dice and adding then together to determine the result, correct?
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 17:32
autor: frolof
Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:20
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59
I'm confused here. "In the case where we dont add the dice together", in regards to which Enemy? 1 or 2? Is this talking about what I asked previously if Enemy 1 rolls 3 dice but Enemy 2 rolls 2 dice (both add up to determine score)? Then why choose the highest result if that has nothing to do with adding highest result?
You resolve enemy 1: roll 3 dice (you need to take 2 more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 2 dice (you already have 2 and even one more). Result: roll 3 dice.
Or
You resolve enemy 1: roll 2 dice (you need to take one more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 3 dice (you need to take a third dice). Result: roll 3 dice.
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:59
Mały Nemo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 14:39
The first Enemy forces us to roll 3 dice (and I assume then to add them together), and the second Enemy to roll 2 dice and choose the highest result.
So, the first Enemy has priority, because need to add the dice together to determine the attack roll. The highest die result is already included there.
What here determines that the enemy that adds the die together to determine attack score to take priority? Does this nerf the 1st Enemy if you must choose the highest result only from Enemy 2?
This one is indeed confusing.
Uou have to roll 3 dice - this is already explained.
You have to add results together and choose the highest one:
So you roll 3 dice (e.g. 3,4,5), add the and end up with one result (12) and choose the highest of the one result (final result: 12).
Although it can be interpreted as follows:
You choose the highest result and add results together:
So you roll 3 dice (e.g. 3,4,5), choose the highest one and end up with one result (5), then add the only one result (final result: 5).
Which is correct? Both

It's Talisman's paradox.
Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 15:20
You resolve enemy 1: roll 2 dice (you need to take one more dice), then you resolve enemy 2: roll 3 dice (you need to take a third dice). Result: roll 3 dice.
But you don't resolve cards like this "separately", correct? They fight together "as one", as instructed in the rulebook. Unless prompted otherwise, like Dragon's Breath attacks.
Die rolls are not rolled separately, correct?
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:21
autor: Rogo
Rulebook pisze:More Than One Enemy
If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Strength on a space and they have the same encounter number, they fight as one during the battle, adding their Strength together with just one attack roll to make a single, combined attack score.
So the answer is: one roll. How many dice? Two-headed ragon says 2, pack of wolves says 1 extra, total is 3. (because even though it's one fight, both instructions must be resolved)
What is the result? Sum (as on dragon's card) or the highest (as on wolves's card)?
If the dragon was drawn first, you add results together, if wolves - the highest roll.
Why?
Because rules are conflicting and there is no way to resolve them together, so you'll need to follow the below:
Rulebook pisze:Adventure Cards must be dealt with in the order determined by their encounter number, starting with the lowest number, then the next lowest, and so on. In the case of a tie, the character encounters Adventure Cards in the order they were drawn.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:41
autor: frolof
Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:21
Rulebook pisze:More Than One Enemy
If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Strength on a space and they have the same encounter number, they fight as one during the battle, adding their Strength together with just one attack roll to make a single, combined attack score.
So the answer is: one roll. How many dice? Two-headed ragon says 2, pack of wolves says 1 extra, total is 3. (because even though it's one fight, both instructions must be resolved)
What is the result? Sum (as on dragon's card) or the highest (as on wolves's card)?
If the dragon was drawn first, you add results together, if wolves - the highest roll.
Why?
Because rules are conflicting and there is no way to resolve them together, so you'll need to follow the below:
Rulebook pisze:Adventure Cards must be dealt with in the order determined by their encounter number, starting with the lowest number, then the next lowest, and so on. In the case of a tie, the character encounters Adventure Cards in the order they were drawn.
Hmmm, that is an interesting take on the rule. I actually
could see that as a proper solution, since Enemies in this case are in fact adventure cards and are treated as such.
But in the case of in battle and in conjuction with Special abilities, are those rules equally applied?
Like, aren't special abilities from Enemuies generally meant to work seamlessly together?
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:51
autor: Rogo
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:41
But in the case of in battle and in conjuction with Special abilities, are those rules equally applied?
Like, aren't special abilities from Enemuies generally meant to work seamlessly together?
I don't have any better idea.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:52
autor: frolof
Rogo pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:51
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 18:41
But in the case of in battle and in conjuction with Special abilities, are those rules equally applied?
Like, aren't special abilities from Enemuies generally meant to work seamlessly together?
I don't have any better idea.
Maybe Rule God has better ideas when/if he returns?

Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: sobota 23 sie 2025, 19:12
autor: Budowniczy Mostów
If this happened to me, the Enemies would roll 3 dice and choose the highest result.
Why? Because rolling the dice for an attack is a standard practice (by default, the results sums up), while choosing a higher result is a bit of an exception.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: sobota 23 sie 2025, 22:26
autor: frolof
Budowniczy Mostów pisze: ↑sobota 23 sie 2025, 19:12
If this happened to me, the Enemies would roll 3 dice and choose the highest result.
Why? Because rolling the dice for an attack is a standard practice (by default, the results sums up), while choosing a higher result is a bit of an exception.
I can in part see how you made that deduction. However, it does negate the "add them together to determine the attack score." which is written as a definitive.
It's sad that Talisman hasn't a clear rule on this very phenomon.

Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: niedziela 24 sie 2025, 08:58
autor: abubu
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 11:47
Draw 2 space.
Let's say you draw an enemy with Strength 3 (enc 2) and it has an special ability to roll 3 dies for its attack roll. (Brutal)
Then you draw another Strength Enemy, (enc 2) and it has a special ability that makes them roll two dice in combat and use the highest result.
These special abilities don't work together when you smash them together. So what would you do? So which goes first? Does the rulebook cover these things?
In my opinion:
Roll 4 dies and reject 1 with the lowest result.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: niedziela 24 sie 2025, 09:04
autor: abubu
... or:
- roll 2 dies
- roll 2 dies and reject one with lower result
- remaining 3 dies gives you enemy attack roll
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: niedziela 24 sie 2025, 10:12
autor: Rogo
abubu pisze: ↑niedziela 24 sie 2025, 08:58Roll 4 dies
Why? None of cards state to roll 4 dice. Rules of both cards are met when you roll 3 dice.
abubu pisze: ↑niedziela 24 sie 2025, 08:58
and reject 1 with the lowest result.
Why? None of cards state to reject any dice. It is imo the best solution but it is not what card is instructing to do.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: niedziela 24 sie 2025, 10:44
autor: abubu
Rogo pisze: ↑niedziela 24 sie 2025, 10:12
Why? None of cards state to reject any dice. It is imo the best solution but it is not what card is instructing to do.
frolof pisze: ↑piątek 22 sie 2025, 11:47
roll two dice in combat and use the highest result.
Dodano po 3 minutach 15 sekundach:
If you have problem with "reject" word, then:
- roll 2 dies
- roll 2 dies and pick one with higher result
- those 3 dies gives you enemy attack roll
Better?
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: niedziela 24 sie 2025, 10:58
autor: Rogo
No, because rulebook instruct to make one roll.
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: niedziela 24 sie 2025, 11:37
autor: abubu
And so what ... Don't you know cards priority rule?
Re: Help! Rule Question: multiple enemies
: niedziela 24 sie 2025, 11:45
autor: Rogo
And which card instructs to do 2 separate rolls?