Strona 1 z 1

Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 08:49
autor: frolof
Here is an example so you know what I mean.

In Talisman Digital Edition, Lets say you draw 2 cards, or land on a space with 2 cards.
There is 1 Monster (encounter sequence 1) and a bag of gold (sequence 5). You must encounter the Monster first.

If you Kill or Evade the Monster by any means, you may continue the encounter and gain the bag of gold.

However, here is where it gets tricky. I figured this out according to Talisman Digital EditioN:

If you use an ability that says: "Monsters will not attack you, although you may choose to attack them.".
Using this ability will NOT allow you to encounter the bag of gold.

If you use an ability that causes you to take the monster as a Follower (example Beastmaster, although Beastmaster only works for Animals.), you will NOT encounter the bag of gold.

I suppose this follows the idea that the only way you successfully resolve an Enemy encounter to then continue encountering the remaining cards,
is if you have to successfully killed or evaded the creature first.
Fine.

However, There are some oddities to this rule.

If you play the Dragon Priestess, If you use the ability sacrifice an object follower or spell to roll like if you roll for the temple.
According to the game, this is counted as Resolving the card and you can encounter multiple dragons on your turn.

So I have to ask, what really "does" count as resolving a card so you can continue to the next encounter?
And what does cause you to not be allowed to follow the encounter?

There are no real rules for this in 4th. From what I could read:
"After any Enemies in the space are killed (see “Resolving
Battles vs. Creatures” on page 10) or evaded (see “Evading” on
page 14), any Stranger or Place there must be visited and any
gold, Objects, and Followers may be taken."
-p10

Help me. I am losing my mind here haha!
Reddit doesn't care or has no idea.

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 09:04
autor: the MackaN
Well I always played that if I can ignore a Monster I play like this Monster is not even there so I can take bag of gold! What can I say... Digital edition is wrong about it and not the first time I guess... Or it interpret rules differently than I do... :D

If you not resolve any particular card then this nevr blocking you to resolve the next if any left in the queue, no? This is how I play.

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:23
autor: Mały Nemo
the MackaN pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 09:04 Digital edition is wrong about it and not the first time I guess...
It is not. The rules allow enountering other cards ONLY if you evaded or defeated the enemies. If somehow else you finished the fight with an enemy without fighting or evading it, your turn ends. It is a stupid rule, I agree, but it's a rule since the very first edition of Talisman and so far nobody cared to change it.

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:26
autor: frolof
Mały Nemo pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:23
the MackaN pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 09:04 Digital edition is wrong about it and not the first time I guess...
It is not. The rules allow enountering other cards ONLY if you evaded or defeated the enemies. If somehow else you finished the fight with an enemy without fighting or evading it, your turn ends. It is a stupid rule, I agree, but it's a rule since the very first edition of Talisman and so far nobody cared to change it.
But how does that explain how Dragon Priestess' offer a sacrifice ability is treated? Because I definently remember my gf offering sacrifices to multiple dragons in a single encounter sequence and claiming the rest of the cards in the sequence by using that ability. That is stated as neither killing or evading.

Added in 2 minutes 27 seconds:
the MackaN pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 09:04 Well I always played that if I can ignore a Monster I play like this Monster is not even there so I can take bag of gold! What can I say... Digital edition is wrong about it and not the first time I guess... Or it interpret rules differently than I do... :D

If you not resolve any particular card then this nevr blocking you to resolve the next if any left in the queue, no? This is how I play.
Tbf Digital edition being wrong is something I can accept. Wouldn't be the first. However many, like me, used DE to learn the game. If no one talks about these rules no one will

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:40
autor: the MackaN
Mały Nemo pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:23 so far nobody cared to change it.
I care! In my MiM edition I care so I have to make a note to mark it in the manual :D

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 12:36
autor: frolof
the MackaN pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:40
Mały Nemo pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:23 so far nobody cared to change it.
I care! In my MiM edition I care so I have to make a note to mark it in the manual :D
Interesting. What is MiM? :D

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 12:39
autor: the MackaN
MAGIA I MIECZ, first polish edition of Talisman with Black&White cards from the 80's.
In this style:
(here 2 extra cards from my upcoming expantion called Deep Desert "Głęboka Pustynia")

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 13:50
autor: abubu
frolof pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 12:36 Interesting. What is MiM? :D
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talisman_ ... sh_Edition

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 15:43
autor: frolof
the MackaN pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 12:39 MAGIA I MIECZ, first polish edition of Talisman with Black&White cards from the 80's.
In this style:
(here 2 extra cards from my upcoming expantion called Deep Desert "Głęboka Pustynia")
Very cool :)

(I know I asked, but from now on let's stick to the subject matter :slightly_smiling_face: )

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 21:24
autor: Mały Nemo
frolof pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:29 But how does that explain how Dragon Priestess' offer a sacrifice ability is treated? Because I definently remember my gf offering sacrifices to multiple dragons in a single encounter sequence and claiming the rest of the cards in the sequence by using that ability. That is stated as neither killing or evading.
Hmm... I would call it a bug then as indeed the enemies weren't either defeated nor evaded. The same would apply to Dragon Priestess' taking a Cultist as a Follower.

However, considering how bad the Priestess generally is, I would not report that bug.

Re: Encounter Sequence: What counts as "resolving a card"?

: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 21:55
autor: frolof
Mały Nemo pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 21:24
frolof pisze: wtorek 15 paź 2024, 10:29 But how does that explain how Dragon Priestess' offer a sacrifice ability is treated? Because I definently remember my gf offering sacrifices to multiple dragons in a single encounter sequence and claiming the rest of the cards in the sequence by using that ability. That is stated as neither killing or evading.
Hmm... I would call it a bug then as indeed the enemies weren't either defeated nor evaded. The same would apply to Dragon Priestess' taking a Cultist as a Follower.

However, considering how bad the Priestess generally is, I would not report that bug.
It's interesting, some consider Priestess A-tier.
At least on Steam guides.

Add that to the list of bugs. Talisman Digital Edition is truly a bad platform to learn how to play.